Teaching Engagements

Here are some of the teaching venues I’ll be at through 2020. I’ll fill in the contact details as I get them. This year, I expect to be available at Cittaviveka in West Sussex, England most of the time between June and November.

Venues and times shift or occasionally get cancelled. Currently on account of the coronavirus epidemic, teaching engagements through April-June are liable to be cancelled to safeguard public health.  Please contact the respective venue for details. 

In order to save on travel, carbon emissions, and general wear and tear, I structure my engagements so that I stay in  one area for a few months at a time. I also like to spend time in my home monastery supporting the community there. So I won’t be back in the USA until 2021. I’ll be in Europe for most of 2020.

Teaching Add to google calendar
Sunday, 28th Jan
to Tuesday, 6th Feb
all day
Add event to google
Retreat in Kuala Lumpur
A ten day residential retreat in an urban centre in Kuala Lumpur.
Please register via:
bubsoc.org/index.php?re.....a-ubv
Show in Google map
Uttama Bodhi Vihara, Jalan BU 3/1, Bandar Utama, 47800 Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
Sunday, 25th Feb
to Friday, 2nd Mar
all day
Add event to google
Sasanarakkha retreat
A residential retreat in Sasanarakkha Hermitage. Book via tiny.cc/as-sbs2018. Registration closes 25 Jan at latest.
Other details from office@sasanarakkha.org
Show in Google map
Taiping, Malaysia
Saturday, 28th Apr
to Sunday, 29th Apr
all day
Add event to google
London insight: Moving out of old grooves
A non-residential retreat/workshop from 10 a.m to approx 4 p.m. Sunday is for more experienced practitioners. Contact www.londoninsight.org/ for details.
Show in Google map
The King Alfred's School, North End Rd., London
Monday, 25th Jun
to Monday, 2nd Jul
all day
Add event to google
Retreat in Santa Cruz, California
Saturday, 14th Jul
to Monday, 23rd Jul
all day
Add event to google
Wisconsin retreat
A residential retreat organized by Madison Insight madisonmeditation.org.
Wednesday, 25th Jul
5:30 pm
8:00 pm
Add event to google
CIMC, Cambridge MA

An evening talk at Cambridge Insight. Drop in, you're welcome.
www.cambridgeinsight.org
Show in Google map
Cambridge Insight Meditation Center 331 Broadway Cambridge, MA 02139, USA
Wednesday, 10th Oct
to Monday, 15th Oct
all day
Add event to google
Retreat in New York
℅ New York Insight
Show in Google map
New York
Friday, 26th Oct
3:00 pm
to Wednesday, 31st Oct
4:00 pm
Add event to google
Citta:Mind, Heart and Awareness
A residential study/practice retreat at Barre Center for Buddhist Studies on the nature of 'citta' : mind-heart-awareness.
Show in Google map
Barre Mass
Tuesday, 6th Nov
6:00 pm
to Wednesday, 5th Dec
7:00 am
Add event to google
Forest Refuge, IMS, Massachusetts
A month-long retreat at the Forest Refuge, centring on the theme of the khandha (aggregates)
Wednesday, 1st May
to Friday, 31st May
all day
Add event to google
Forest Refuge
Fully booked
Show in Google map
Barre, MA
Friday, 5th Jul
to Sunday, 14th Jul
all day
Add event to google
retreat in Italy
Details: 
Show in Google map
Monday, 26th Aug
to Saturday, 31st Aug
all day
Add event to google
Study-practice session on the 5 aggregates (khandha)
This retreat will be held in the Netherlands, near to Amsterdam. It is not an occasion for silent practice alone. Each day will include several hours of meditation along with instructions, but will also present a guided focus on texts within the Pali Canon.
Show in Google map
Saturday, 14th Sep
to Sunday, 15th Sep
all day
Add event to google
Sheffield Insight
A non-residential weekend of meditation teaching and practice. Details later.
Show in Google map
Saturday, 21st Sep
to Sunday, 22nd Sep
all day
Add event to google
Two daylongs in London
Love me, love my monkey: Radical Self-Acceptance 
Show in Google map
Friday, 22nd Nov
to Sunday, 1st Dec
all day
Add event to google
retreat in Provence
An eight precept (= no evening meal) residential retreat to be conducted in a monastery in rural Provence. Taught in English with translation into French.
Show in Google map
Saturday, 7th Dec
2:00 pm
to Thursday, 12th Dec
4:00 pm
Add event to google
Retreat at Wongsanit, Thailand
Sunday, 15th Dec
to Wednesday, 25th Dec
all day
Add event to google
Retreat in Malaysia ℅ BUBS
A ten day, eight precept retreat.
Show in Google map
Bandar Utama Buddhist Society, Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
Tuesday, 4th Feb
5:30 pm
to Monday, 10th Feb
12:00 pm
Add event to google
Dharmagiri, South Africa
Wednesday, 12th Feb
7:00 pm
to Tuesday, 18th Feb
12:00 pm
Add event to google
Buddhist Retreat Centre, South Africa

Talks, Essays, Reflections